The Boss (2016)

casey My main problems with The Boss are 1. I hated it and 2. It’s not funny.

brooke That’s your opinion and you’re entitled to it, but I disagree and you’re wrong.

casey There’s this popular joke formula in American comedies nowadays that goes like this: one character acts buffoonishly while another one narrates their actions in a cringey, incredulous manner: “Oh no, why are you doing that? Ugh, you’re behaving badly, you definitely shouldn’t do that. Oh no, this is so awkward.” I’m so fucking tired of that joke. Granted, it’s not always bad–it’s basically the Michael Bluth role in Arrested Development–but mostly it’s a crutch for bad writing. The Boss–Melissa McCarthy’s comedy about a disgraced motivational speaker and hypercapitalist con artist who reinvents herself as the found of for-profit girl scouts knockoff–relies on that joke a lot. And plenty of other bad jokes, some unearned half-stabs at sentimentality, and a cast of characters with personalities that change from scene to scene, and who flit into and out of the story in a way that suggests even the director couldn’t stand watching it.

brooke I’m not going to say that you don’t have any good points, but I think you’re being a little unfair. There is a lot of jumping back and forth, but I thought the movie was funny, empowering, and fun. The sentimentality is certainly out of place at times, but I think it was a lot less chaotic than you’re giving it credit for: McCarthy was straightforwardly weird and Kristen Bell played a very funny straight man.
I’m not going to lie, I’m probably a little biased in favor of The Boss because the cast was something like 95% female. Only the villain and a couple of side characters were men.

casey I guess I’m still not sold on McCarthy. She was great in Spy, but I don’t usually find her that funny. Bit I’ll grant that her performances are always hella confident.

brooke On that I absolutely agree. McCarthy knows who she is and what she’s here to do no matter what the project is.
Overall, I think it was worth the time to see it, but I suppose I could have waited for the Redbox

casey Or we could rent Spy again.

Leave a Reply

